P2P-Zone  

Go Back   P2P-Zone > Peer to Peer
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Peer to Peer The 3rd millenium technology!

Old 27-01-05, 06:50 PM   #1
chrisjdel

Default P2P Tracking Technology

I'm a student on a University network and recently had my service disconnected for two days because of a copyright infringement complaint. What I want to know is, how do they track people? What sort of software do they use and is there any way to defeat it? Somebody out there must have written a blocking utility to keep those riaa-mpaa parasites out of your system. I don't know why I was singled out when there's 25,000 other students on this campus doing the exact same thing every day, but I'd appreciate any advice you could give me on how to protect myself. eDonkey and BitTorrent are my clients of choice, if that helps.
Old 27-01-05, 09:20 PM   #2
theknife
my name is Ranking Fullstop

hi Chris...welcome to the NU

nothing's foolproof but i believe Peer Guardian helps:

Quote:
PeerGuardian is a powerful yet petite firewall application especially designed for P2P users and anyone else who wants to protect his or her computer from unauthorized searches instigated by private agencies and corporations.

PeerGuardian works by blocking and logging all TCP/IP connections to and from known IP ranges used by known P2P foes, such as the RIAA, MPAA, MediaForce, MediaDefender, BaySTP, Ranger, OverPeer, NetPD, and more.
get it here: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Securit...rdian-Pr.shtml
theknife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-05, 01:33 AM   #3
Drakonix
Just Draggin' Along

I'm going to mention ProtoWall, as I think it's better because it uses less resources. PeerGuardian works fine, but when I tried it last it was a bit of a resource hog. I haven't tried PeerGuardian for a while, maybe they reworked it.