P2P-Zone  

Go Back   P2P-Zone > Peer to Peer
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Peer to Peer The 3rd millenium technology!

Old 20-06-05, 02:37 PM   #1
Elektraman

Default Being sued by the music biz for sharing MP3

Newbie here.

On saturday I was served with a draft writ from the BPI representing 11 major record companies. Apparently I am a serious offender because i shared some MP3's and they want......£10.5K compensation within 2 weeks or else!!!

Thing is I used Limewire to download 4000 MP3's and unwittingly had sharing switched on. BPI downloaded 3 files from my PC as "proof" of breaking the law. By the way an injunction was sought against BT to get my IP address.

There are 31 other people getting the same writ.

Help!!! Any possible defences???
Elektraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-05, 03:44 PM   #2
napho
Dawn's private genie

Maybe you could throw yourself on the mercy of the court and the BPI and tell them you'll write some essays on why piracy is wrong and you'll spam the net distributing that newfound belief.
napho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-05, 05:14 PM   #3
emmy
don't try this at home

Quote:
Originally Posted by napho
Maybe you could throw yourself on the mercy of the court and the BPI and tell them you'll write some essays on why piracy is wrong and you'll spam the net distributing that newfound belief.
If I had a camera my picture would look like this

emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-05, 06:56 PM   #4
JackSpratts

Quote:
Originally Posted by napho
you'll spam the net distributing that newfound belief.
you can start here!

- js.
JackSpratts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-05, 07:53 PM   #5
Drakonix
Just Draggin' Along

Only an attorney can give you legal advice.

Many persons sued by the Recording Industry Association of America in the U.S. were able to settle out-of-court for substantially lower sums than originally demanded.